Worry.

There is that feeling that you get right before traveling. The night before the plane ride, you may be kept up late at night by the excitement, but most of the time you are kept up by the worry of forgetting the smallest detail that could ruin your whole trip.

Beginning a new journey, you’re experiencing new things everyday. With each new experience, you are testing out the waters for a new pool – this creates worrying situations by the second.

Just as my parents worry about whether or not I have paid the rent for my current house.
Just as students worry about whether or not they’re doing enough studying through fresher’s week.
Just as a tipsy fresher worry about whether or not they’re too drunk as their cheeks start to warm up. (“asian flush”).
Just as I worry about what this next chapter of my life will be like.

“Grace” – Laura Story.

I ask you:”How many times will you pick me up,
When I keep on letting you down?
And each time I will fall short of Your glory,
How far will forgiveness abound?”
And You answer: “My child, I love you.
And as long as you’re seeking My face,
You’ll walk in the power of My daily sufficient grace.”
You are so patient with me, Lord.

These were the lyrics that played in the background as I wrote the lines above. Here is God telling me exactly what I needed to hear – “I will walk in the power of His daily sufficient grace.” I have been through quite a few experiences this past week. Starting with the few that are most memorable. (Mostly including alcohol which has not really been part of my life at all before last week)

1. Fresher’s MSA Wristband events

Parties. Parties. Parties. Starting with the party infamous for all the sexual innuendo’s related to it’s name – the Lock&Key Party. Students go around with a drink in one hand, and a key or lock in the other, wandering around the dance floor meeting people and attempting to ‘unlock’ them. Just as I hope many other fresher’s felt, I just wanted to fit in and find my ‘lock’. I worried that I would not be able to find the person I was meant to ‘unlock’. In the end, it just ended up being a wonderful night of meeting new people – especially my ‘lock’ whom I hope will be a good friend for the coming 5 years.

This followed with the TogaParty. Wrapping bedsheets around myself wasn’t exactly my thing… as I worried about how horrible it would look. Then I worried that I would be the only one not brave enough to imitate the wonderful roman times. In the end – it was yet another night of great fun, meeting new friends, and forming friendships with the occasional shout/sing to a popular song.

The BeachParty and the 4-legged Pajama Pub Crawl also started with worry about this or that… and ending up being a night of meeting new people who I realise share the same worries. So I learnt my lesson – I don’t need to worry about anything – because God always has it under control. Tomorrow’ Fresher’s fiesta. Bring on the nachos and sombreros.

2. Fresher’s Sports Trials

Everyone starts at different levels. I worried about how ‘good’ I am in comparison. There are always those who are extremely humble and over exaggerate how ‘bad’ they are at the sport – then turns out to be the one scoring all the goals and making all the shots. What I found was that there were many more who were just like me – there for the fun of trying something new and only having a little bit of experience.

Though… the thing I worried more about was the drinking culture so infamously known to be closely linked with all the sports societies. So as I fell into the spirit of getting ‘initiated’ during the football tryouts. I didn’t know that I would be as dizzy as I was. Though as I worried about getting home (although it was only 5 in the afternoon), I ended up having wonderful, caring team members accompanying me home by 8pm. Making sure I was safe and sound in bed.

3. Lectures. Tutorials. Seminars

The infinite number of words describing the different learning styles in University only frightened me more about the workload I was about to receive. I kept asking myself: ‘What have I gotten myself into.” However, after worrying through the first 5 minutes of the first lecture. I realised – “I sort of know this stuff!”. And regarding that which I didn’t know – I didn’t mind at all searching it up with excitement at learning something new. So after dosing off in some certain boring lectures, and reading through a 38 page document – I believe I’m ready for University. Bring it on – because I have God.

A MATTER OF TRUST

It’s easy to be swallowed up into the things of earth. Whether or not it’s sports, social or academic subjects, we tend to forget how meaningless they are to the God that has our lives in complete control. We worry about multitasking – and He is guarding over all our lives in this world. Who would worry about their lives if we realise the one who is controlling it has not messed up on the many people before us that managed to do great things.

Even Jonah – the one who was swallowed by the whale. He tried to run away from God, not trusting that He would fulfil his promise of taking care of Him in the city of Ninevah. In the end, not only did the whole city turn from their evil ways to worship and trust in God. Jonah sat in a whale for 3 night and 3 days because he didn’t trust God enough. Hopefully I won’t make the same mistake and end up with similar consequences:

Psalm 5:11
But let all who take refuge in you be glad;
    let them ever sing for joy.
Spread your protection over them,
    that those who love your name may rejoice in you.

I don’t have to worry about anything, because God is in control of all things. Now and forevermore.

Leave a Reply

