God is real.

11802774_10152910124820213_8145744814489480995_o_Fotor_Fotor

(photocreds go to Jess Cai)

“So, what have you been up to?”
“PHAT Camp”
“WHAT?”
“P-H-A-T Camp”
“Oh…”

PHAT Camp Reflect #1

PHAT Camp, Praise Him all together, was a youth camp that I had attended just about a week ago as a youth leader. It was both an exhausting yet exhilarating experience that cannot simply be described by one, two, or even three adjectives. But to those who know the phrase ‘PAUSE AND REFLECT’ a little too well, you’ll finally see me apply this to life after two years of so much repetition that it made it onto the t-shirt.

My faith can be based on the many statistical information regarding the number of manuscripts present to support the bible and it’s truthful existence. It may also be based on the numerous miracles that may appear on the news. But it is most strongly based on the experiences I have of his faithfulness and grace in rescuing me out of my darkest depths.

His presence in my life isn’t like the sort of chill you feel in a horror movie when it seems like something else is in the room. Instead, it’s the warm and comforting peace you feel in your heart when you learn to trust and give up your burdens.

I had only started being a youth leader in January 2015, and being the first time at PHAT camp, I had arrived excited and slightly scared to be serving with other youth leaders much more experienced than I was, facing deep theological questions that would throw us into the deep end, but allow us to learn to swim a little better. But my worst fear was meeting my group of campers and not being able to connect with them, or show them that I care.

11802744_10152910129945213_6909948172877901397_o_Fotor

(photocreds go to Jess Cai)

We had two days of training with just the leaders before the camp started, and in one of the prayer sessions, our prayer leader had asked us to really give our fears up to God, and trust in Him. I’m som
eone who likes to visualise what I think about, and in my mind, I could just imagine myself playing tug-of-war with God, pulling
this fear this way and that, back and forth, struggling. But when I finally gave up and let go, there was a peace inside of me that let me know that ‘it’s going to be okay’.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” ~ Romans 15:13

God is real. Because he hears my prayers.

Leave a Reply

